Penne with Sausage and Escarole

I’ve still been going through my cookbooks in search of new recipes to try, and this one came from Emeril’s 20-40-60 book:  Penne with Sausage and Escarole.  Typically I find that whenever I follow a pasta recipe I end up with a dish that, to me and my husband, seems to have a ton of pasta with just a little meat/veggies/sauce tossed in.  This means that often I will only use half the pasta called for and keep the remaining ingredients the same:  2014_0626June20140004  Well, that wasn’t quite 1 1/2 pounds of sausage, but it was more than a pound.  I only used half that box of pasta, so I saved 50 ¢ and already have the base for another pasta meal sometime in the future.  I do admit to getting bored with prepping the escarole, LOL!  So I probably could have put more in there:  2014_0626June20140008  It tasted pretty good, though, and I was pleased with the resulting ratio of pasta to sausage.  I will be making myself a note in my cookbook to only use half the pasta, and one day I will return to this recipe.  I will, however, also have to note that my hubby found it a little spicy.  It wasn’t too spicy for him to eat and have leftovers for lunch the next day, but I’ll cut back on the crushed red pepper a bit for him next time so he’ll like it even better.  If you like really spicy foods, though, you should add more than called for.  I liked it just as prepared myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

