Country-Fried Steak with White Gravy

This week I pulled Emeril’s 20-40-60 cookbook from one of my kitchen bookcases and perused it in search of a new recipe to try.  I came across one titled “Country-Fried Steak with White Gravy” that I had not yet marked with a rating and decided that’s what we’d have for dinner one evening.  I tried to Google the recipe so I could give you a link to it, but what came up was not what was in my book, so here you go:

8 oz. sliced bacon, cut crosswise into 1/2-inch pieces
1 cup plus 1 1/2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
3 teaspoons Emeril’s Original Essence or Creole Seasoning
1 large egg
2 to 3 cups of milk, as needed
Four 6- to 8-ounce cube steaks
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
Vegetable oil, for frying, as needed
1/2 cup minced yellow onion

1. Cook the bacon in a 12-inch saute pan over medium-high heat until just crisp, about 5  minutes.  Remove the pan from the heat.  Using a slotted spoon, transfer the bacon to paper towels to drain, leaving the fat to cool in the pan.

2. Combine the 1 cup flour with 1 teaspoon of the Essence in a shallow bowl or pan.  Whisk the egg, 1/2 cup of the milk, and 1 teaspoon of Essence in another shallow bowl or pan.

3. Season the steaks all over with 1 1/4 teaspoons of the salt and 1/2 teaspoon of the black pepper.  Dredge the meat in the seasoned flour, then dip in the egg wash, letting the excess drip off, and then dredge in the flour a final time.  Set the steaks aside on a tray.

4. Pour the cooled bacon fat into a liquid measuring cup and add enough vegetable oil to measure 1/2 cup total.  Return the mixture to the sauté pan and heat over medium-high heat until it is hot but not smoking.  Carefully add 2 of the steaks and fry until golden, 3 minutes per side.  Transfer them to paper towels to drain.  Add the remaining 2 steaks to the pan, dipping them in flour one more time before frying if necessary, and cook in the same manner.  Transfer the steaks to paper towels.

5. Add the 1 1/2 tablespoon flour to the pan and cook, whisking constantly, for 1 minute.  Add the onion and cook, stirring often, until softened, about 3 minutes.  Whisk in 1 1/2 cups of the milk, the remaining 1 teaspoon Essence, the remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt, and the remaining 1/2 teaspoon black pepper.  Return the bacon to the pan and bring the gravy to a boil.  Reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer for 5 to 6 minutes, until the sauce has thickened and there is no raw flour taste.  Add additional milk as necessary to achieve the desired consistency.

6. Serve the steaks with the hot gravy.

 

If you’ve read my previous posts, you probably suspect I did at least one thing differently.  Well, I did indeed do a few things differently.  And here are those “few things”:
– I used a different seasoning.  Not because I have anything against Emeril’s Essence, but because I am out and haven’t bought more.  I did have some “Chef Paul Prudhomme’s Blackened Redfish Magic” and subbed that in the recipe.  It tasted just fine 🙂
– I had a package of 6 cubed steaks.  I used them all and did not need to prepare extra egg wash and flour coating to do so (which may have had something to do with one of my next differences . . .).
– Instead of seasoning the steaks with salt and pepper first, I mixed the salt and pepper in with the flour coating mixture.  (I guess I’m just lazy 😛 )
– I did not coat the steaks in flour, then egg, then flour.  I did egg then flour, period.  This was an accident.  I simply missed that step.  I was pleased enough with the results, but when I make this again I will do the double coating of flour.
– This wasn’t different, just a note:  I did not need to add any more milk after the first cup and a half.  I liked the consistency and didn’t feel I needed more.
– I failed to take photos as I went along, so this time you’ll have to settle for one photo of the finished dish:  2014_0622June20140019  That’s just refrigerated mashed potatoes and frozen corn.  If you really want to “do it up right”, make homemade mashed potatoes and fresh corn on the cob 😀  But my husband and I were both very happy with our dinner, and that’s what matters!

BTW, I have tried some other recipes from this book and been well pleased with the results.  If you don’t have one, you might want to pick up a copy of your own:  2014_0622June20140021

Leave a Reply

