Sloppy Joe Baked Potatoes

Back to Food Network magazine for last night’s dinner (October 2013 issue).  The photo with the Sloppy Joe Baked Potato recipe just looked scrumptious, so I decided to try it out.  Confession though: I had no idea what was meant by “sweet chili sauce” in the ingredient list.  I did not find anything at my grocery store that said “sweet chili sauce” on the label, and I had some plain ol’ “chili sauce”  (found in the condiment section of the store above the ketchup offerings) left from a previous recipe, so I used that:  2014_0620June20140001  I also chose to use beef instead of turkey.  I’ve never been a fan of ground turkey.  I’ve tried to like it.  I really have!  Apparently I haven’t run across the appropriate recipe(s) for it though, because I haven’t been thrilled with any I’ve tried.  So I pretty much gave up on it and get my turkey in the form of deli meat sandwiches and Thanksgiving turkeys 🙂

I don’t like to “bake” potatoes in the microwave either.  Unless you’re short on time, what’s wrong with tossing them in the oven for an hour?  They turn out better and it’s not labor-intensive to prick the potatoes with a fork, coat them with oil, sprinkle them with salt, and set them in the oven.  Then you’re free to go about preparing the rest of the meal while the potatoes cook.

I don’t know about the rest of you, but I am not a super-quick chopper.  I’m not slow as molasses at it, but I’m not “superman speedy” about it either.   So I warn you, this 30 minute meal takes some time to put together.  As in, more than 30 minutes, if you’re like me 😉  After about an hour, I ended up with this: 2014_0620June20140004

Would you believe that I, personally, found the sloppy joe sauce to be a tad too sweet? Yet my husband, who tends not to like things as sweet as I do, went back for more and made nary a complaint!

I really like the idea of the veggies included in there, but I think I’d either prefer just preparing Manwich or using the old recipe my mom taught me and throwing in those veggies.  Here’s that old homemade sloppy joe recipe, if you’re interested:

1 lb. ground beef
1 onion, chopped
3/4 t salt
2 T molasses
2 T prepared yellow mustard
1 T Worcestershire sauce
1/8 t hot pepper sauce (Tabasco, Frank’s)
1/2 C ketchup

Brown ground beef and onion in skillet.  Drain off excess fat.  Add in remaining ingredients and heat through.

I also like to use that sloppy joe recipe as a hot dog topper, and surely a few carrots and celery thrown in would work just fine.  Don’t you think? 😀

Leave a Reply

