Sausage and Peppers

Last night’s new recipe came from the January/February 2014 issue of Food Network Magazine.  The title of the recipe is Turkey Sausage and Peppers, but I chose not to use the turkey sausage.   It’s not that I don’t like the turkey sausage.  I’ve had it before and I like it just fine.  However, it usually costs more, and that is why I chose not to use it this time.  I wanted to save a couple of bucks:  2014_0619June20140010

And then I started out by ignoring the cooking instructions in step one.  The broiler and I are not the best of friends.  I am easily distracted and often called away from what I am doing by either a human child or a canine one.  The broiler burns things in a hurry, so I decided to boil those sausages instead.

Meanwhile, I prepared the peppers.  I did use dried rosemary instead of fresh, and when I do that (pretty much every time) I crush the rosemary using my mortar and pestle:  2014_0619June20140014  The other thing I did a little differently was omitting the water.  Since I used my mom’s home canned tomatoes, on which there is a lot of liquid, I drained some of it off and then added what was left in the jar.  That turned out to be quite a bit, and my sauce didn’t get thick at all, but the results were still good:  2014_0619June20140017  As you can see, I served this over rice.  I just felt that it needed to go with rice or pasta, though it would have tasted just fine without it 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

