Caramel Chocolate Lava Cake

Awhile back my husband went out searching for caramel baking bits for me.  He didn’t find what I wanted and he knew that the Werther’s Original Baking Caramels weren’t it, but he bought a bag and brought them home anyway.  (He did later find the Kraft Caramel Bits for me.)  So now I have this bag of baking caramels and I’m not sure how I’m going to use them (though I’m sure just sitting down and digging in to the bag of caramels wouldn’t be a bad thing . . .)  Where to turn?  The Werther’s Original website, of course!  And here is what I found:  http://www.werthers-original.us/caramel-recipes/caramel-desserts-treats/caramel-chocolate-lava-cake

Two of the members of this household would not be interested, but that’s okay because the recipe only makes 4 anyway.  This afternoon, when the kids were home from school and there were just two sugar cookies left (enough to satisfy the child who doesn’t think he likes caramel), seemed a great time to test the recipe.  So I got out those caramels and the rest of the ingredients and went to work:  2014_0203January20140002

My little girl wanted to help, so she buttered the ramekins while I cut out little circles of parchment paper to place in the bottom:  2014_0203January20140004  I chose not to use the microwave and instead melted the butter & chocolate chips and the caramels with water on the stovetop.  My daughter watched and stirred, and called me over to see that the caramels had melted into a large lump.  I grabbed a soup spoon out of the drawer and filled it with water and added that to the caramels.  Success!  2014_0203January20140007  After baking for 15 minutes, I pulled these little cakes out of the oven:  2014_0203January20140009  We had trouble waiting for them to cool enough to eat, but we did wait for 5 minutes, I think…  When I turned them out onto plates and cut into mine, the result was this:  2014_0203January20140013  In the words of my oldest son, “It was yum!”  The four of us who had these enjoyed every bite.  They really don’t take long to make, and would be great for a dessert after a formal dinner or after an everyday family meal.  The only thing I would suggest is to maybe wait just a few more minutes before eating, as the caramel was still really hot when we dug in.  But you don’t want to wait too long or you’ll lose the “lava” effect!

Leave a Reply

