Easy Red Beans and Rice

There are probably countless similar recipes, and I’ve used some of them myself, but this time I ran across this version and decided to give it a try:  http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Easy-Red-Beans-and-Rice

It doesn’t require an unreasonable number of ingredients:  2014_0124January20140002  And it doesn’t take all that long to put together either (a big plus when you end up being out and about in the evening when you thought you were going to be at home cooking dinner!)

You’ll notice that my pepper is red, not green as called for in the ingredient list.  Green bell peppers cost less (usually much less) than the red, yellow, and orange varieties, but my husband’s stomach rebels against the green ones, so I pay the extra and buy one of whichever other color looks the “healthiest” the day I’m at the store.

The only other change I made was to follow the package directions to cook the rice (place rice and water in pan, bring to boil, reduce heat, cover and simmer 15 minutes).  To bring it together at the same time, I started the sausage mixture first, then the rice.  I knew the sausage mixture would be okay if it simmered an extra minute or two.  Rice isn’t as forgiving.  The end result looked like this:  2014_0124January20140006 and was rather tasty, even if it is almost monochromatic.    It’s not overly expensive or complicated to fix, and makes a warm, filling meal on a cold evening 🙂

Leave a Reply

