Shrimp and Broccoli Scampi

I ran across this recipe in the Jan/Feb 2014 issue of Cooking Light magazine:  http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/shrimp-broccoli-scampi-50400000132696/

If you’ve read through my previous posts, you are aware that I, myself, don’t eat seafood, but I have a husband who loves the stuff.   So I try to put some form of fish/seafood on the menu at least once a week.  Sometimes I fail to do so and other times he gets his seafood meals twice in one week.  It all depends on the advertised prices at our local grocery store that week 🙂

Almost every time I prepare a recipe calling for spaghetti or thin spaghetti, I buy angel hair pasta instead.  That may be a huge no-no with you pasta afficionados out there, but my husband prefers angel hair pasta, so that’s what I buy:  2014_0109January20140005  Now, I don’t like shrimp, but I wanted to eat too, so I changed up the directions just a tad.  First, after the shrimp was cooked, I rinsed out that skillet pretty well before proceeding.  After all, I didn’t want any shrimp flavor seeping into my serving, LOL!  Then at the end, when everything is stirred together, I left the shrimp out long enough to toss the ingredients well and plate up a shrimpless serving for myself.  After that I stirred in the shrimp and let it heat just a bit longer to make sure the little critters were cooked through.  My husband’s plate looked like this:  2014_0109January20140009  I should note that for most pasta dishes I use less pasta than called for.  I prefer a plate with plenty of add-ins, not just mostly pasta with a piece of broccoli every 3rd bite or so.  Three of my children wouldn’t even try this. (I knew they wouldn’t.  After all, there’s broccoli in that there dish!)  My oldest son, however, did have some (with most of the broccoli picked out) and he agreed with my husband and me that it was a good meal, but nothing mind-blowing.   I think perhaps it needed about double the sauce so there’d be more of that garlicky flavor spread around.  At least we know we were eating something healthy, and that’s always a good thing!

Leave a Reply

