Burrito Bake

For my birthday, I received two cookbooks.  One was “Our Daily Bread” from Saint Matthew Catholic Church in Ravenswood, West Virginia, and the first recipe I chose to try was the following:

BURRITO BAKE

1 lb. ground chuck

1 (15 oz.) can refried beans

1 pkg. enchilada or taco seasoning

1 (8 oz.) can tomato sauce

8 flour burrito shells/tortillas

1 can medium or hot enchilada sauce

(8 oz.) shredded cheddar cheese

2 green onions, diced (optional)

1 small can diced black olives (optional)

Preheat oven to 350ºF.  Brown ground beef, drain grease.  Combine beef, taco/enchilada seasoning and tomato sauce.  Blend in refried beans.  Simmer 5-10 minutes.  In a 9×13 pan, place a flour burrito shell, add 1/4 cup of meat mixture and roll up, continuing the process until all 8 shells are filled and arranged in the pan.  Pour enchilada sauce evenly over the burritos and sprinkle the olives and cheese on top.  Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 25-30 minutes.  Sprinkle chopped green onion on top before serving.  Serve with tortilla chips, mexi-corn and/or a side salad.  Serves 3-4.  (Pam Moore)

My ingredients, as usual, don’t exactly match what was called for:  2013_1227December20130010  I used ground round instead of ground chuck, soft taco size instead of burrito size tortillas, and mild enchilada sauce.  If you’ve read my previous posts, you’re probably aware that my hubby doesn’t handle heat well.  I also have 4 children for whom mild is a better choice if I want them to taste the meal.

My oldest son loves black olives, but my other children won’t touch olives of any kind, so I put all the olives on half of the burritos:  2013_1227December20130012  Well, sort of “half”.  I actually ended up with 7 burritos instead of 8.  I tend to overstuff.   I chose to serve corn and a black bean, couscous and red pepper salad (recipe to follow in next post) for the sides:  2013_1227December20130015  Yes, I had a serving sans olives.  I knew my husband would want olives on any leftovers he ate, so I opted to have none.  The burrito bake is a simple, hearty meal and we’ll most likely have it again one day.  If you want, you can dress it up with sour cream, guacamole, diced tomatoes, shredded lettuce, whatever you like!

Leave a Reply

