Black Bean, Couscous, and Pepper Salad

From the book Fit and Fast Meals in Minutes by Linda Gassenheimer, which I received for my birthday, I chose to try this recipe first:  http://demoweb.aisle7.net/Aisle7_Online/default.aspx?resource=%2Fus%2Fassets%2Frecipe%2Fblack-bean-couscous-and-pepper-salad%2F~default

I forgot about photos until after the salad was done, but I can tell you that (1) I used an entire can of black beans because I knew I’d end up throwing the rest away if I didn’t use them right then, (2) I had some of a package of chopped ham leftover from making ham, cheese, and onion omelettes one morning and I used what was left of that, which was a little more than called for, and (3) I omitted the salt, pepper, and cilantro.  I also chose not to serve the salad on lettuce leaves, which you can see in the previous post, where the full plate is shown.

Here is what my salad looked like and the dressing I chose to use for the “olive oil and vinegar dressing”:  2013_1227December20130007  This could easily be a light meal, and that was my original plan.  This was going to be lunch one day, but I ended up combining lunch and dinner into one late afternoon meal.  My husband liked this well enough to eat leftovers for a snack that evening and have more with his lunch the next day.  It’s a keeper!

Leave a Reply

