Product Review: Duncan Hines Signature Red Velvet Cake Mix

For his birthday party with family, my oldest son requested a red velvet cake.  A few months ago (before my entry into the world of blogging) I attempted a homemade red velvet cake.  It was a total flop 😦  Rather than try out another recipe when guests would be arriving and expecting birthday cake, I chose to go with a store-bought mix.  Whenever I use a boxed cake mix, no matter how moist it claims to be or whether it says “pudding in the mix” on the box, I always buy a small box of complementary flavored pudding mix and stir it into the cake mix (following the directions on the box otherwise).  This time I chose to not do that so I could give a review of this mix that says “Deliciously Moist” on the box:  2013_1120November20130050  I followed the directions and ended up with batter that looked like this:  2013_1120November20130055 and the baked results looked like this:  2013_1120November20130062  Pretty red, huh?  Even though I did once make an acceptable cream cheese frosting from scratch, I bought this to use this time:  2013_1120November20130066  And yes, I used both cans.  What can I say?  I like frosting!  I failed to take another photo once the cake was frosted, but I’m sure you can picture it in your head – pretty much like the front of the box shows.  And the verdict?  A good cake, but it would have benefited from the addition of a box of pudding mix.  (My oldest son agreed on that point.)  One day I’ll attempt another red velvet cake from scratch.  When I do, I’ll be back to let you know how it turns out 🙂

Leave a Reply

