Maple-Glazed Pumpkin-Cranberry Coffee Cake

One way I manage to provide some variety in our breakfast menu is by trying out different quick breads and coffee cakes.  This one caught my eye about a year ago, and I finally decided to make it:  http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/pumpkin-cranberry-coffee-cake-50400000124129/

Have I mentioned that I don’t like walnuts?  Well, I don’t.  Thus, every time I come across a recipe that calls for them, I substitute pecans:  2013_1120November20130057  The recipe calls for those cranberries to be “coarsely chopped” in a food processor.  I know what “coarsely chopped” means, but it does allow for a little bit of leeway, so I thought I’d show you what I decided to go with:  2013_1120November20130060  The coffee cake came out beautifully, and for those of you who don’t like things overly sweet, you could probably stop right here and be perfectly happy:  2013_1120November20130070  But if, like me, you have an insatiable sweet tooth, go ahead and make that glaze and pour it over the cake:  2013_1120November20130088  Two of my children wouldn’t try it because it has nuts in it, one was afraid she wouldn’t like the cranberries, and the other agreed with me and my husband that it’s “pretty good stuff”.  I regret that it wasn’t all eaten, but 3 of us enjoyed most of it.  This is a good recipe that I’ll be using again sometime.  Sometime when there isn’t birthday cake also in the house begging for attention…

Leave a Reply

