Maw Maw’s Country-Style Steak

Have I mentioned that I love beef prepared in the slow cooker?  Here’s the latest beef recipe I sampled using my slow cooker:  http://www.food.com/recipe/maw-maws-country-style-steak-326288

I looked for cubed steak but found none and bought this instead:  2013_1113November20130018  There are so few ingredients in this recipe that it’s ridiculously easy to throw together.  I always always always choose to go with the longer cooking time at the low heat setting on the slow cooker.  I tried the shorter time on the high setting once and was not pleased with the results.  After 10 hours of simmering away in the slow cooker (the last hour of which I used to fry some potatoes and heat up some corn), dinner was served:  2013_1120November20130003  The steak fell apart at the touch of a fork and the onions and sauce added just the right flavor to complement the beef.  This would be great served over mashed potatoes, if your spouse liked mashed potatoes (Mine will eat them, but they’re his least favorite kind of potatoes.  A shame, because I LOVE mashed potatoes!)

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. We Hate Steak! | Ginger Couturier - November 27, 2013

Leave a Reply

