10 Shallot Spaghetti with Kale

I’ve been seeking out more and more meatless meals, both in the quest of health and fitness and the quest of saving money.  I love shallots, so this recipe seemed to “fit the bill”:  http://www.rachaelraymag.com/recipe/10-shallot-spaghetti-with-kale/

Here are the ingredients I used:2013_1031October20130004  You’ll notice that I used plain old angel hair pasta instead of “farro” or “whole wheat” spaghetti.  My husband prefers angel hair to spaghetti, and I prefer anything I can get for $1 a box.  The cheese is simply “Romano” as opposed to “Pecorino-Romano” or “Parmigiano-Reggiano”, but we’re talking about what I can find at my local grocery store (as well as what I can afford to buy).  As for that kale?  Well, I was unaware that kale was anything but “kale”.  I haven’t a clue what “lacinato kale”, “Tuscan kale”, “black kale” or “dinosaur kale” even mean, because the only signs I’ve seen at my grocery store just say “kale”.  So that’s what I bought 🙂

Other than those changes, I followed the directions (which meant cooking the kale right along with the angel hair, since angel hair takes 4 minutes total) and came up with this:  2013_1031October20130008  We liked it, but if I make it again I’ll probably substitute spinach for the kale, simply because I have a texture issue with kale.  I eat it every once in awhile anyway, but I prefer spinach.

Leave a Reply

