Product Review: Krusteaz Chocolate Swirl Crumb Cake & Muffin Mix

I do bake muffins from scratch (see previous post) but often on school/work mornings I take advantage of muffin mixes.  Unfortunately, this means we have the same muffins over and over again because there are precious few varieties that enough family member agree on and will polish off.  (I hate to throw away leftover muffins, but I’m not one to freeze baked goods for later and I have no need or desire to sit down and polish off the last 6 muffins by myself.)  In my quest for “something different”, I picked up this:  2013_1029October20130024  I followed the directions on the box for making muffins, but instead of 12, when I distributed the batter into the muffin cups I ended up with 11:  2013_1029October20130026  After adding the crumb topping and baking, this was the result:  2013_1029October20130033  These were not what I expected, looking at the picture on the box, but two of the kids and I liked them.  They were sweet and cake-like, and those aforementioned children requested more of the same a few days later.  (I haven’t yet baked more for them, but I did buy a second box of the mix.  Maybe crumb cake this time . . . )

2 responses to “Product Review: Krusteaz Chocolate Swirl Crumb Cake & Muffin Mix”

  1. Tammy says :

    I like Krusteaz. I’ll have to see if I can find these here!

Leave a Reply

