Breakfast Cookies

I’m always on the lookout for something different to fix for breakfast, so when I saw this simple recipe in the latest issue of “Every Day with Rachael Ray”, I thought I’d give it a try:  http://www.rachaelraymag.com/recipe/breakfast-cookies/

The ingredients I used:  2013_1026October20130008  That is butter flavor Crisco you see under the baking powder, and you’ll see that I used pecans instead of walnuts.  I always do.  I bought the flavor variety pack of instant oatmeal because none of us eats the cinnamon-spice flavor and I didn’t want to have half a box or more left sitting on the shelf, especially when I didn’t know if we’d like these cookies.  (What else would I do with them?)  The thing is, the recipe calls for 1 1/2 cups of the cinnamon-spice oatmeal.  I discovered that one packet is about 1/2 cup.  Wouldn’t you know it, only two packets in the box.  I used a packet of the maple-brown sugar to make up the difference.   That should work, right?  Especially since there’s brown sugar in the recipe.

I have a really nice food processor, but a part is broken and I need to replace it.  In the meantime I’m using the food processor attachment for my blender.  I am not all that pleased with it, or the blender itself, for that matter.  The recipe tells me to pulse the ingredients until “sandy”.  The point at which I quit I had a mixture that looked like this:  2013_1026October20130012   I thought the cookies (well, one big cookie, essentially) looked a bit undone still after 12 minutes, so I let it bake another 3 minutes and here’s the result:  2013_1026October20130015  I’m not sure how they were supposed to actually look, but I think if I’d let them bake much longer they’d have gotten very dry and crumbly.  They were a bit crumbly as it was, but also rather heavy, “stick-to-the-roof-of-your-mouth” cookies.  I liked the taste, and I can honestly say that one cookie was plenty.  I had a late lunch and had no desire for snacks in between breakfast and lunch.  The picture in the magazine looks like there’s some sort of jelly or preserves on the cookie, but I had mine plain and served my husband’s with strawberries:  2013_1026October20130018  My children were not fond of these, but I’ll eat the remaining ones for a quick breakfast or snack.

Leave a Reply

