Baked Pasta with Meatballs and Spinach

This recipe from the latest issue of Woman’s Day caught my eye:  http://www.womansday.com/recipefinder/baked-pasta-meatballs-spinach-recipe-wdy1113?click=recipe_sr

I had a one pound package of ground beef and a one pound package of Italian sausage that I failed to separate before freezing, so when I pulled them out of the freezer and had no other use planned for them but this recipe, I decided to go ahead and double the meatballs.  After the meatballs were ready, I did save 4 of them for a meatball sub, but the rest of them went into the pasta dish, along with these ingredients:  2013_1024October20130005  I actually found mezzi rigatoni at my local grocery store!  I was pleasantly surprised 🙂   I bought the Silver Palate Marinara sauce awhile back when it was half price, and my husband said he really liked it, so that’s what I’ve been buying lately, even though it means spending a couple of extra bucks to get it.

I’m a little leery of putting a glass baking dish under the broiler and I don’t like my cheese to get browned, so I put mine in the oven at 400 degrees for about 10 minutes, and this was the result:  2013_1024October20130007  I didn’t find the extra meatballs to be too much (and the extras I saved made a fine sub for lunch one day, along with a little leftover sauce and some mozzarella cheese melted over top).    My husband had seconds of the pasta and the leftovers heated up nicely in the oven the next day.

2 responses to “Baked Pasta with Meatballs and Spinach”

  1. Debbie Konc says :

    That looks mighty tasty!

    • Lynnette'sTestKitchen says :

      It was! For just two people, though, I should probably have halved the recipe. Even after having leftovers for lunch the next day there was still some left. (No, the kiddos won’t touch it with that green stuff in there, LOL!)

Leave a Reply

