Buttermilk-Chocolate Chip Crumb Cake

In my house cake is considered an acceptable breakfast food.   The latest cake recipe I decided to try for breakfast was this one:  http://www.piggyscookingjournal.com/2008/02/buttermilk-chocolate-chip-crumb-cake.html

Once I started reading through the recipe, I realized I was going to have to spend a little time interpreting first.  For example: “plain flour” and “caster sugar” are not terms I use.  “All purpose flour” and “granulated sugar” are what I used, even though my search led me to believe that caster sugar may be a bit more fine than granulated.  If I wanted to use mini chocolate chips and not go searching all over town, I had to use semi-sweet instead of bittersweet, so I did.

I used a pastry blender and then a butter knife to mix the crumb topping, and I ended up with this:  2013_1019October20130002  For sifting, I use a sieve and a piece of parchment paper:  2013_1019October20130005  And I don’t keep buttermilk in the house.  Instead, I keep this mix handy so I don’t have to go out and buy buttermilk every time I come across a recipe that calls for it:  2013_1019October20130012  I was a bit bewildered by the instructions to “line baking sheet around interior of pan”.  To me, “baking sheet” is something you bake cookies on, but I decided this must mean parchment paper or something like it.  Whatever it meant, I didn’t do that.  I just sprayed a loaf pan with a bit of olive oil and spread in the batter:  2013_1019October20130013   After baking for an hour at 350 degrees Fahrenheit, I checked my cake with a toothpick, and it appeared to be done.  After allowing it to cool overnight, I sliced into it the next morning to discover this:  2013_1019October20130027  The bottom half (below where my toothpick reached) was not quite done.   Based on the last two recipes like this I’ve tried, you’d never know I have several cake and quick bread recipes that turn out beautifully for me.  But this I have learned: Next time I test one of these cakes or breads, I will use something longer than a toothpick so I can determine if the bottom is also baked through!  This cake (the part that was edible)  was buttery and chocolatey and definitely worth another try.  I’ll just leave it in the oven a little longer next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

