Potatoes with Chili con Carne

My slow cooker got a workout this week.  I used it two days in a row, and beef was the star both days (poor menu planning on my part, but I didn’t hear any complaints from my husband).  Here was the recipe that caught my eye for the second slow cooker meal of the week:  http://www.womansday.com/recipefinder/potatoes-chili-con-carne-recipe-wdy1113?click=recipe_sr

If you’ve been following along, even for a few days, you’ve figured out by now that the ingredients I use don’t always exactly match the list in the recipe:  2013_1017October20130023  There was no such thing as a 28 oz. can of fire-roasted tomatoes and no such thing as “crushed” fire roasted tomatoes at my local grocery store.  Instead, what you see there are two 14.5 oz. (if I recall correctly) cans of fire roasted diced tomatoes.  A few years ago I was looking for beer for a recipe, and one of the store employees happened to be in that aisle and pointed out the single cans of beer that were available.  We’re not beer drinkers in this house and I don’t use it in recipes often enough to justify buying a 6-pack or more.  I still end up dumping most of the beer down the drain, but I get what I need for my recipes for a dollar or two, so I’m happy 😀

I was having a “poorly functioning brain” week this week, so I completely forgot to add the black beans at the end.  And I didn’t even realize it until just now, LOL!  The chili ended up being a tad too mild for my tastes, and the overwhelming flavor was “tomato”  (should’ve added those beans, huh?)  I didn’t add cheese on top, just sour cream, and I purposely didn’t serve tortilla chips with the potatoes.  I served a salad for the side and thought that was enough food without scarfing down a bunch of chips as well.  I still like the idea of this recipe, but I’d alter the chili recipe to make it spicier:  2013_1017October20130042

Leave a Reply

