Breakfast Pizza

Breakfast is the one meal of the day when it seems like I’m cooking the same foods over and over and over and over and over again.   On occasion I decide to change things up a bit, even if I am using pretty much the same ingredients once again.  From the Taste of Home “Almost Homemade” cookbook, I chose to try this recipe:  http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/breakfast-pizza-10

I did go ahead and use the refrigerated pizza crust, since I was fixing this on a typically crazy weekday morning, but I cooked bacon and crumbled it myself rather than buying “real bacon bits”:  2013_1017October20130017  As you may notice, I bought the cheddar jack blend of cheeses rather than purchasing two separate packages.  This package is supposed to contain 2 cups of cheese, which is what the recipe calls for, but I thought just a little more than half of the package was plenty.  One other small change I made:  When I cook scrambled eggs I add in a little skim milk instead of water.  If I’d been thinking ahead, I would have left half of the pizza with just cheese and bacon for my two children who don’t eat scrambled eggs but love bacon.  Then the entire pizza would have been eaten that morning instead of half of it being left over:  2013_1017October20130021  If I were to prepare this on a weekend, I’d probably opt for homemade crust, but even with the “canned crust” this was a nice change from the usual breakfast fare.

Leave a Reply

