Pretzel Dogs

Every once in awhile, when I’m fixing a meal just for the kiddos, I will try out a new recipe on my foursome of difficult to please palates.  A couple of days ago I decided to try this one on them:  http://lemon-sugar.com/2012/04/pretzel-dogs.html/

I am not a master bread baker, but I decided to attempt this anyway.  Sometimes bread turns out well, sometimes not too bad, and sometimes it’s a total flop.  I was none to sure about this one once I got started and the dough stayed sticky and wouldn’t pull away from the sides of the bowl.  I finally decided to try adding just a bit more flour (I didn’t measure) and decided to proceed with the next step when the dough looked like this:  2013_1012October20130003  After rising, I had a mass of dough that looked like this:  2013_1012October20130006  My 7 year old daughter and I rolled bits of dough and wrapped the half hot dogs, then I boiled them and put them onto baking sheets lined with Silpat mats:  2013_1012October20130008  Sorry about these last couple of pictures.  Poor lighting combined with failing batteries equals low quality images.  The final result wasn’t quite as pretty as the ones shown in the link (go ahead and look if you haven’t already done so),  2013_1012October20130011  Even if they didn’t look all that nice, three of my four children enjoyed them (Mr. Super Extremely Picky being the one who just nibbled at the bread).  I had to sample one myself, just to see how that bread came out.  In my opinion, it really did taste like a soft pretzel 🙂

Leave a Reply

