Maple-Bacon Brussels Sprouts

Maybe you don’t like Brussels sprouts, or maybe you think you don’t.  My husband and I truly believed we hated them, but we had only had them steamed and lightly seasoned.  Since I was talked into trying out a recipe for roasted Brussels sprouts, I have discovered that, when prepared correctly, Brussels sprouts are actually pretty tasty!

From the November 2013 issue of Family Circle magazine (I searched and did not find this one online):

Maple-Bacon Brussels Sprouts

8 servings, prep 15 minutes, cook 23 minutes

8 oz. maple bacon, diced

2 lbs Brussels sprouts, trimmed and halved

1/2 cup heavy cream

1/4 cup pure maple syrup

3/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

Heat a large skillet over medium heat.  Cook bacon until crispy, about 8 minutes.  Remove with a slotted spoon to a paper towel-lined plate.

In the same pan, pour off all but 3 tbsp of the bacon fat (if not enough fat, add canola oil to compensate).  Add Brussels sprouts and cook 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Pour in heavy cream; reduce by half, about 3 minutes.  Stir in cooked bacon, maple syrup, salt and pepper.  Cook 2 more minutes, until Brussels sprouts are tender and sauce has thickened.

 

What I used:  2013_1012October20130051  No, that is not maple bacon pictured there.  I would have used maple bacon, but a few years ago my local grocery store stopped carrying the maple bacon from any brand.  They must have known it was my favorite (and my husband’s too!)  That package of Brussels sprouts isn’t quite 2 lbs either, but I did not reduce the amount of the remaining ingredients.  One other thing, (Shhhh!  Don’t tell anyone!) I didn’t drain off any of the bacon fat.  My husband and I were well-pleased with the end result (you really didn’t think the kids had any Brussels sprouts, did you?):  2013_1012October20130064

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Brussels Wrapped in Noodle Love | What's On the Stove? - October 13, 2013

Leave a Reply

