Dijon Veggies with Couscous

When planning this past week’s menu, I pulled out a stack of my old “Healthy Cooking” magazines, so many of this week’s posts are for “Healthy Cooking” recipes.  Let’s start with this one, shall we?  http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/dijon-veggies-with-couscous

Here are the veggies I started with: 2013_1005October20130002  That may be a rather large “medium zucchini” and I knew I wasn’t going to eat the mushrooms, but I used all of them anyway.  I pick the mushrooms out of my food and add it to my husband’s serving.  He loves them 🙂

Here’s what I pulled together for the dressing: 2013_1005October20130012  We will now pause for all the true “foodies” out there to lambaste me for using cooking wine.  Yeah, yeah, I know, I know.  Cooking wine contains too much sodium and you’re never supposed to cook with a wine you won’t drink.  Well, I don’t drink wine at all (except for a sip during Communion and that isn’t wine, it’s the blood of Christ).  I truly can’t stand the stuff except as a mild flavoring in cooking.  This is what I use.  You go right ahead and use the real stuff, and your results will most likely be superior to mine.  But as long as my husband and I are happy with the results, I see no need to change practice in this house.

Here are my roasted veggies, all ready to be stirred into the couscous: 2013_1005October20130030  And the final result:  2013_1005October20130033  I enjoyed this dish, and my husband liked it even better than I did (probably because he really enjoyed those mushrooms!)  Not only does it taste good, but it’s always a good thing to work a variety of veggies into your diet.

Leave a Reply

