Pulled Pork Stuffed Sweet Potato

A slow cooker meal is a wonderful thing, don’t you think?  Especially when, as a stay-at-home mom, this means I can do the prep work while I’m home by myself (i.e. without the distraction of 4 children and one husband wanting me to do 15 things for them at the same time as I’m trying to cook!)

The most recent use for my slow cooker was to try out this recipe: http://www.thenovicechefblog.com/2012/08/pulled-pork-stuffed-sweet-potato/

The photo shown with that recipe just makes your mouth water, doesn’t it?  I’m not sure why it took me several months after finding the recipe to actually try it.   But try it I finally did!  To start with, here’s what I used for the pulled pork: 2013_1002September20130045  I had more than twice the amount of pork called for, but I cooked it all.  I didn’t increase the amount of chili powder and garlic salt, as the pork was coated well with what was called for.  But it did take all 4 of those cans of Coca-Cola to cover the roast.  (No big loss to me, as I don’t like to drink Coca-Cola.  My husband and oldest son do, which is why we had some in the fridge in the first place – left over from the last birthday party.)  Here is what the bubbling mess of “stuff” in the slow cooker looked like: 2013_1002September20130047  Looks almost otherworldly, doesn’t it?  Cover that, set the time and temperature, and leave it be!  Later on in the day it was time to bake the sweet taters:  2013_1002September20130072  I chose to fix three: one each for me and my husband, and the third for my husband to take in his lunchbox the next day.  That bottle of BBQ sauce?  It’s not the “Sweet Baby Ray’s” called for, but lately I’ve been looking for the ones that say “no corn syrup”.  And one day I’ll just start making my own.  But for now, this will suffice.

I am not a fan of the idea of removing large hunks of hot, cooked meat from the slow cooker to place on a platter and shred, so I always shred the meat while it’s in the slow cooker.  How to drain off the cola?  Too heavy to lift and pour (and besides, if I tried that the pork would almost certainly slide out and there goes dinner!)  I ended up grabbing a liquid measuring cup and scooping out most of the liquid before shredding the pork and pouring in the barbecue sauce:  2013_1002September20130074  I now have enough pulled pork to feed an army!  I did not save any barbecue sauce to drizzle over top and make it look “pretty”, but this sure was tasty: 2013_1002September20130081  I served this with a salad, and it was a wonderful meal – one which will be repeated one day 🙂

Leave a Reply

