Twice-Baked Sweet Potatoes with Cheddar and Bacon

Another recipe from ALL YOU magazine: http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/twice-baked-sweet-potatoes-50400000130493/

When I was growing up, you couldn’t get me to try a sweet potato.   My dad always told me I’d like them because (as they’re name implies) they’re SWEET.  “Like eating candy,” he said.  Well, it turns out he was right, but I was in my twenties before I was brave enough to give them a chance.  Now I love them and am happy to incorporate them into a meal any time of the year.

Now, I don’t have a working microwave oven at this point in time, and even if I did, my previous experience “baking” a regular old potato in the microwave oven tells me that I’d prefer to use my regular old oven anyway.  Thus, instead of microwaving the sweet potatoes, I baked them for an hour at 400 degrees (as instructed in Jessica Seinfeld’s “Deceptively Delicious”).   I have also taken to preparing bacon in the oven, again at 400 degrees.  I haven’t timed the bacon, but it’s probably about 10 minutes or so when I start checking it every minute or so since it goes so quickly from “almost ready” to “burnt to a crisp”.

The recipe tells us that the filling will mound up very high, and here is what my potatoes looked like before topping with cheese and baking: 2013_0925September20130127   The final result looked like this: 2013_0925September20130134  It was mighty tasty, and the only thing I might do differently the next time I make these is omit the tomatoes, as I didn’t think they were necessary.  In fact, I think I’d like these a little better without them.

Leave a Reply

