Hearty Chicken Enchiladas

My 10 year old son enjoys looking through my cookbooks and cooking magazines.  Recently he found the Collector’s Edition of “Cooking for 2” (that issue they send you in the hopes that it will entice you to purchase a subscription).  He selected several recipes that he wanted me to try, so I decided to oblige and pick out a couple of the ones he’d chosen.  First, I decided this one would work for Sunday’s dinner (a day when I’m sure the entire family will be eating dinner together): http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Hearty-Chicken-Enchiladas

This is a very simple recipe, and I could get chicken at a good price this week.  Instead of buying two 15 oz. cans of enchilada sauce, I decided to buy one larger can, even though it didn’t quite hold 30 oz.  I had to decide between brands, and I went with one I’d never used before, because the can was a slight bit larger: 2013_0925September20130005  Those three ingredients got tossed into the slow cooker, and when the chicken was cooked, I did what I usually do: shredded it right in the cooker.  Then I put the meat on about half the tortillas before adding the black beans to the mixture because my children requested no beans in theirs.  After that I stirred a drained, rinsed can of black beans into the remaining chicken mixture and then filled the rest of the tortillas.  I dipped some sauce out of the slow cooker (yes, I now had to try to avoid the bits of shredded chicken left in there, but a bit of chicken on top won’t hurt anything), spooned it over the enchiladas and baked.  While the enchiladas were baking I cooked some Arroz Blanco (which is not just “white rice”, you cook some onion and garlic in butter, then add rice and chicken broth and cook until the rice is done).  Our Sunday dinner looked like this: 2013_0925September20130080  And it was good EXCEPT that my husband and oldest son thought the enchilada sauce tasted a bit odd.  So that means back to Old El Paso products the next time I make these.  (BTW, the son who requested these took one bite and declared them “too spicy” and went off to the kitchen in search of something else to eat.)

One response to “Hearty Chicken Enchiladas”

Leave a Reply

