Pork Cutlets with Apricot-Mustard Sauce

Last night our new recipe for dinner came from the latest issue of ALL YOU magazine (my favorite women’s magazine, for many reasons: coupons, recipes, and the fact that women with normal bodies model the clothes):  http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/pork-cutlets-apricot-sauce-50400000130280/

Though there are many “foodies” out there who would give me much grief for it, I keep a container of chicken bouillon in my pantry cabinet and I pull it out whenever I see a recipe that calls for chicken broth.  So this is what I used in my Apricot-Mustard sauce: 2013_0919September20130012  Sometimes, to save time, I’ll use an extra pan and do two things at once.  This time I chose to fix the sauce in a saucepan at the same time as I was cooking the chops in a skillet.  I know, I know.  The sauce was then minus the browned bits of “goodness” left in the skillet after the chops cooked.  But I tend to cook late dinners for me and my husband 4 nights (or more) a week and every minute counts!  My stove was a crowded place at dinnertime last night: 2013_0919September20130013  I did discover that my sauce was really thin (see what I get for “cutting corners”?) so I mixed a bit of cornstarch in some cold water and added it in to thicken the sauce just a tad (not too much).  I put a little of that sauce over the white rice for flavor (had plenty of sauce for the chops and rice both) and this turned out to be a tasty little meal! 2013_0919September20130015

Leave a Reply

