Tempe Tacos with Tex-Mex Salsa

And thanks again to the Kroger coupon mailing for the recipe for Monday night’s dinner.  It was my 18th wedding anniversary, and what did I do?  Instead of fixing my husband something that I knew he loved, I decided to take a risk and try out a new recipe on him.  I know he likes fish tacos, so I decided to try this recipe on him (couldn’t locate it online):

2 large tomatoes, diced

1/2 onion, minced

1/4 C cilantro, finely chopped

1/4 C lime juice

2 lb catfish fillets, boned and skinned

1 T olive oil

Prepared dry Cajun spice, to taste

4 large corn tortillas, warmed

1 lb prepared cole slaw

1 ripe avocado, sliced

Preheat grill to medium heat (about 375 degrees F); coat with nonstick cooking spray.  In mixing bowl, combine tomatoes, onion, cilantro and lime juice or salsa; mix well and set aside.  Brush fish with olive oil; dust both sides with Cajun spice.  Grill covered about 4 minutes per side until internal temperature reaches 145 degrees F.  Remove and cut into bite-sized pieces.  Spoon cole slaw onto tortillas and layer fish and salsa on top.  Garnish with slices of avocado.  Makes 4 servings.

 

Okay, to start with, my husband doesn’t like catfish.  So I took to Google to look up an acceptable substitute.  I saw cod listed, and I know I can always find cod, even if it’s frozen.  So this is what I bought: 2013_0916September20130004  Next, Neither my husband nor I like cilantro.  However, often recipes look lacking without those bits of green, so what I do is toss in just a bit of dried parsley (something I always have on hand) as a substitute.  Which made my salsa look like this: 2013_0916September20130007  Third, we do not own a grill anymore (and even when we did, I made my husband do any cooking on it because I’m a bit leery of an open flame).  I’ve found that a skillet on the stove can do a fine job when I’m fixing fish: 2013_0916September20130008   That seasoning you see on the fish?  That’s Emeril’s Bayou Blast.  I had yet another issue with this recipe.  “Large” corn tortillas?  Nope.  Afraid not.  The only size corn tortillas I’ve seen where I shop are these: 2013_0916September20130009  Maybe you can’t tell from the photo, but they’re pretty small.  Not a problem.   I just made hubby 4 small tacos.  I already had some cole slaw made and leftover from a previous meal, so I assembled those tacos and here’s what they looked like: 2013_0916September20130011  (Those other 2 plates?  Salads.)  And the verdict was?  The risk was worth it!  My husband devoured his Tempe tacos and was pleased to have more for lunch the next day 😀

Leave a Reply

