Twice Baked Potatoes

I’ve fixed twice baked potatoes a few times, but was I content to go back to a tried-and-true recipe?  Not this time.  I have had this one pinned on Pinterest for awhile now, so I decided that it was time to try it out: http://www.justapinch.com/recipes/side/potatoes/amazing-twice-baked-potatoes-2.html  I have started cooking bacon in the oven most of the time, on a baking sheet at 400 degrees.  I never time it, just keep a close eye on it.  I’d say check it around 10 minutes or so.  And once it’s getting close to done, check it VERY frequently as it goes from “almost done” to “burned” quickly!  But I prefer to cook the bacon separately and then crumble it and add it into recipes.  This keeps it crispy.  If you cook bacon with, say, onions, it takes on moisture and getting it crispy is next to impossible.  For me anyway . . .

My husband says that green bell peppers “don’t agree with him”, so I usually splurge and get red, yellow, or orange.  This recipe already called for red and yellow, so I substituted orange for the green.  Here is what went into the skillet to cook up: 2013_0914September20130012  Next came the work of scooping out the pulp of the potatoes to be mixed with the cooked bacon, ham and veggies.  I like to use my grapefruit spoon to do the scooping: 2013_0914September20130013  By the way, while I’m thinking of it, who ever heard of baking a potato for two and a half hours?!?!?!?  I follow Alton Brown’s instructions in his book, I’m Just Here For the Food: Wash potato, dry with paper towels, poke holes with fork, coat with oil, sprinkle with kosher salt, place directly on oven rack and bake at 350 degrees for about 1 hour!  I baked 2 potatoes (could have gotten away with one as only two of us were eating this dinner) and here is what they looked like after stuffing: 2013_0914September20130014 And after topping with cheese and baking: 2013_0914September20130019  These were quite tasty, though I’ll reserve this recipe for special occasions and certainly not when my oldest son is dining with us.  He loves twice baked potatoes, but not with all that “yucky stuff” (i.e. peppers and onions) in them, ha ha!

Leave a Reply

